- What the GAWN Certification Actually Certifies
- Exam Mechanics: Format, Fees, Delivery and Windows
- The 16 Published Objective Headings
- The CyberLive and Zigbee Ambiguity
- Building an Open-Book Index That Works
- Hands-On Skills Behind the Objectives
- Who Values the Credential
- Four-Year Validity and Renewal
- Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
- Frequently Asked Questions
- GAWN is GIAC Assessing and Auditing Wireless Networks: one proctored exam, 75 questions, two hours, 70% to pass.
- The attempt fee is $999 USD, a retake is $899, and the activation window is 120 days.
- GIAC publishes 16 objective headings but no percentage weights, so never trust claims about "heavily weighted" domains.
- The exam is open book for hardcopy only; electronic references and internet access are prohibited.
What the GAWN Certification Actually Certifies
The GAWN credential, issued by GIAC Certifications, validates a practitioner's ability to assess and audit wireless networks. The scope is far wider than Wi-Fi. The published objective headings stretch from 802.11 fuzzing and WPA variants through Bluetooth, Bluetooth Low Energy, RFID at both high and low frequencies, NFC, and software-defined radio. A GAWN holder is expected to understand how radio-based technologies are attacked, how those attacks are detected, and how the findings feed into an audit.
If you are still orienting yourself, the explainer pages on what GAWN certification is and what GAWN stands for cover the basics. This article goes further into the mechanics of the exam, the structure of the objectives, and how to prepare around them.
Exam Mechanics: Format, Fees, Delivery and Windows
According to the GIAC credential page, the GAWN is a single web-based proctored examination with 75 questions, a two-hour time limit, and a minimum passing score of 70%. Because answers are submitted without any ability to review or change them afterward, pacing and first-pass accuracy matter more than they would on an exam that allows flagging and revisiting. Our dedicated page on the GAWN passing score goes deeper on what the 70% threshold means in practice.
Delivery options
Candidates test either remotely through ProctorU or onsite through Pearson VUE, subject to whichever options are authorized for the individual attempt. Remote delivery means your workspace, webcam, and room are inspected, and your desk must be clear of anything the proctor has not allowed. Onsite delivery trades that setup burden for travel to a testing center. Check which option your attempt authorizes before you plan logistics.
Fees and the activation window
| Item | Standard USD fee (excl. sales tax) |
|---|---|
| Certification attempt | $999 |
| Retake | $899 |
| Practice examination | $399 |
| Attempt extension | $479 |
| Renewal | $499 |
Training is priced separately from all of the above. Once an attempt is activated, you have 120 days to complete it, and an extension costs $479 if you need more time. That 120-day clock is a planning constraint worth taking seriously: activate only when your index is built and your lab practice is largely done. For a full breakdown of how these line items combine, see the GAWN certification cost guide, and for scheduling specifics see GAWN exam dates and testing windows.
Eligibility
GIAC requires no formal prerequisites to begin a certification attempt. Affiliated SANS training is optional, and preparation can come from practical experience, college coursework, or independent study. Prerequisites listed for the related SEC617 course are course-level recommendations, not exam eligibility requirements. More on this appears in the GAWN requirements guide.
The 16 Published Objective Headings
The GIAC credential page lists 16 objective headings. It does not publish percentage allocations for them, so no honest source can tell you which heading carries the most questions. Treat the list as 16 areas you must be able to answer questions about, and use it as the backbone of your index. The companion article on all 16 GAWN content areas expands on each one.
Radio and 802.11 Foundations
Four headings form the Wi-Fi core of the exam.
- Wireless Basics: the shared vocabulary of radio, frames, and network operation that every other heading builds on.
- Sniffing Wireless: passive capture, interface modes, and what can and cannot be observed from the air.
- 802.11 Fuzzing Attacks: how malformed or unexpected frames are used to probe client and access point behavior.
- WPA Variants: the differences between WPA-family protocols and the authentication and key-handling weaknesses each one exposes.
Attacking Networks and Clients
These headings cover the offensive techniques an auditor must understand to reproduce and report real risk.
- Attacking Weak Encryption: why legacy protections fail and what recovering keys looks like conceptually.
- Wireless Client Attacks: targeting the endpoint rather than the infrastructure.
- Rogue Networks: impersonation, unauthorized access points, and detection.
- Hotspots: captive portals and public network trust assumptions.
- DoS on Wireless Networks: availability attacks and their countermeasures.
- Bridging the Air Gap: wireless paths that connect isolated or segmented environments to outside networks.
Short-Range and Specialty Radio
This group takes the exam beyond Wi-Fi.
- Bluetooth Attacks and Bluetooth Low Energy Attacks: classic versus low-energy pairing, discovery, and exposure.
- High-Frequency RFID Attacks and Low-Frequency RFID Attacks: cloning, replay, and the differences between the two bands.
- NFC: tag and peer interaction at close range.
- Practical SDR Attacks: using software-defined radio to observe and interact with signals outside standard Wi-Fi hardware.
Key Takeaway
Because GIAC publishes headings without weights, give every one of the 16 at least baseline coverage. Candidates who over-invest in Wi-Fi and skim RFID, NFC, or SDR are betting on a weighting that GIAC has not disclosed.
The CyberLive and Zigbee Ambiguity
Public sources do not fully agree on the exam's format and scope. The GIAC Catalog 2026 displays a CyberLive badge against GAWN and mentions Zigbee in marketing text. The credential page, however, does not specify a practical-item composition, and it has no separate Zigbee objective heading. The responsible reading is to hold the 16-heading credential-page list as your baseline, while staying alert to the possibility of hands-on style items.
- Do not assume the exam is purely multiple choice.
- Do not assume it contains a particular number of lab items; no such count is published.
- Do not build a study plan around Zigbee as a standalone topic, though general understanding of low-power wireless protocols will not hurt your Bluetooth Low Energy and sniffing preparation.
The Certification Information and objective list tied to your own purchased attempt are authoritative for question types, scope, and passing criteria. Read them when you activate, and let them override anything you have read elsewhere, including this article. Our difficulty guide discusses how format uncertainty affects preparation.
Building an Open-Book Index That Works
The exam is open book for hardcopy books, notes, and an index. Electronic references and internet access are prohibited, and hardcopy materials resembling practice or exam questions and answers are also prohibited. That last rule matters: your notes should record concepts, tool behavior, and your own lab observations, never reconstructed exam content.
Index by objective heading, then by tool and term
Use the 16 headings as your top-level structure, then add a second index keyed on terms, protocols, frame types, and tool options. With 75 questions in two hours, you have roughly 1.6 minutes per question, so a lookup should take seconds. An index that is organized the way the questions are phrased will beat one organized the way a textbook is.
What belongs in the index
- Side-by-side distinctions you tend to confuse: Bluetooth versus Bluetooth Low Energy, high-frequency versus low-frequency RFID, the WPA variants.
- Command syntax and option meanings from the tools you practiced with.
- Your own lab notes on what output looked like when an attack succeeded or failed.
Hands-On Skills Behind the Objectives
The related SANS SEC617 course, Wireless Penetration Testing and Ethical Hacking, offers an unweighted public curriculum that is helpful as preparation context. It does not establish exhaustive exam coverage, and its labs and capture-the-flag exercise do not prove how the GAWN exam itself is composed. Use it as a topic source, not a blueprint of the test. Whether you take that route or self-study, see the GAWN training overview for options.
Whatever route you take, aim to have done each of the following in an authorized lab, on equipment you own or have written permission to test:
- Capture and interpret 802.11 traffic in monitor mode, including management frames.
- Stand up a controlled rogue access point or captive portal and observe client behavior.
- Walk through the authentication flow of each WPA variant and identify where its weaknesses sit.
- Enumerate Bluetooth and Bluetooth Low Energy devices and examine what they advertise.
- Read and replicate low- and high-frequency RFID and NFC interactions with appropriate hardware.
- Capture and inspect a signal using a software-defined radio.
Hands-on repetition converts abstract terms into recognition, which is what lets you answer a scenario question quickly. Original practice questions, such as those on the main practice test site, help you check that recognition against exam-style wording without relying on leaked material.
Who Values the Credential
Employers that test or defend radio-dependent environments tend to value wireless assessment skills: penetration testing and red team consultancies, internal security teams at organizations with large wireless footprints, and assessors working in sectors that rely on badges, access control, or short-range devices. Typical role titles include penetration tester, wireless security analyst, and security consultant. Browse GAWN-relevant job paths for more detail.
On compensation and return on investment, this article makes no numeric claims. For a qualitative treatment of earnings and value, see the GAWN salary guide and the analysis of whether GAWN is worth it. If you are weighing difficulty against outcome, the pass rate discussion explains why published numbers should be treated cautiously.
Four-Year Validity and Renewal
A GAWN certification is valid for four years. To renew, you must either earn 36 approved continuing professional education (CPE) credits during the active cycle or pass the exam again, and in either case pay the applicable renewal fee, currently $499. Because wireless technologies shift quickly, the CPE route doubles as a structured reason to keep up with new attack research. Plan CPE activity from the start of the cycle rather than scrambling in year four.
Sequencing Your Preparation by Domain
Order matters more than hours. Foundational headings unlock the rest, and specialty radio topics are easier to absorb once you have a firm mental model of sniffing and frames. A sequence that respects those dependencies looks like this:
Wireless Basics, Sniffing Wireless, WPA Variants
- Build the vocabulary and capture workflow everything else depends on.
- Start your index with term and tool entries.
Weak Encryption, Client Attacks, Rogue Networks, Hotspots, DoS, Fuzzing
- Reproduce each attack class in a lab and note observable output.
- Record how to detect and mitigate each one.
Bluetooth, BLE, RFID (both bands), NFC, Practical SDR, Bridging the Air Gap
- Spend extra time on the headings where you have the least hands-on exposure.
- Write comparison tables for look-alike technologies.
Timed practice and index pruning
- Run timed sets of original practice questions and refine lookups.
- Activate your attempt only when the 120-day window fits your remaining plan.
The GAWN study guide offers a longer walkthrough of resources, and the practice test hub is a convenient place to rehearse under time pressure.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here it means GIAC Assessing and Auditing Wireless Networks, a certification issued by GIAC Certifications. It is unrelated to other credentials that happen to share the acronym. See what GAWN stands for for more background.
The GIAC credential page specifies 75 questions in two hours, with a 70% minimum passing score. Answers cannot be reviewed or changed after submission.
Yes, in hardcopy form: books, notes, and an index are permitted. Electronic references and internet access are prohibited, as are hardcopy materials that resemble practice or exam questions and answers.
No. GIAC requires no formal prerequisites to begin an attempt. SANS training is optional, and experience, coursework, or independent study can all prepare you.
Do not assume so. The GIAC Catalog 2026 shows a CyberLive badge, but the credential page does not specify practical-item composition. Rely on the Certification Information provided with your own attempt.
GAWN rewards candidates who treat all 16 published objective headings seriously, build a fast hardcopy index, and practice in authorized labs rather than relying on memorization alone. Confirm the details of your own attempt against GIAC's materials, then prepare against the headings rather than against rumor.